Keep your eyes open.

I promised another post, well, at least I promised myself another post. Writing, writing well, begins with books. As you know from my last post I believe all writing begins with reading.

Second– observation. Open your eyes. Pay attention. In order to write well one must live in another’s head so therefore it is imperative to observe, not only your surroundings, but interactions between people. In fact, the first person you can pay attention to is you.

Self-awareness is primary. If we don’t understand our own reasons and motivations, how can we ever provide reasons and motivations for our characters? At least, reasons and motivations a reader will believe?

So follow those butterflies. Will do you an immense amount of good.

butterfly

I’ll expand upon the notion of observation in a later post.

Published by

juliabarrett

I am an author of fiction and nonfiction.